The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey

Hello everyone!

So, today I (unexpectedly) got a new job which is cool because money, but it has totally thrown a wrench into my reading and writing time. I’m still working out a new schedule, hence the late posting, but bear with me! I promise things will normalize soon. 

I’ve been reading The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey and it’s really interesting.
I’m particularly taken with Mabel, definitely looking forward to see how her character progresses and changes throughout the book. I’m loving the novel so far, the way you can almost feel the Alaskan winter seeping through the pages.

Now, in case you don’t know the novel is about a childless couple who moves to Alaska in order to be by themselves and escape the pity of those who know she lost a child. However, the Alaskan winters are tough and keep driving them further apart. In an uncharacteristic moment of happiness during the first snowfall, they build a snow child. The next day, the snow child is gone, but they see a young girl running through the woods. They eventually come to love her as a daughter, but all is not as it appears.

dun, dun, duuuuuuuuuuuun! *cue suspenseful music*

That’s what I’ve been able to glean from reading different bits and pieces about it online. The novel is actually based on a Russian legend by the same name that follows sort of the same pattern, so I’m curious to see how much of the novel stays true to the legend.

Maybe I should find a book of Russian legends or fairy tales to complement this one? I actually think I might want to pair each destination with a nonfiction book that pairs either with the country or the novel’s subject. We’ll see.

Sweet dreams, readers. Until next time!

Leave a Reply

