“It’s Snowing.”

thesnowchild

And THAT’s how the cookie crumbles!

Good evening, everyone. I finally finished The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey! I’m pretty excited to have my first pick done with. People keep asking me how I’m choosing the books for the challenge, but, to be honest, it’s all pretty random. I’m glad I ended up going with this one though, because it was truly an excellent read.

Nothing in this novel happened the way I thought it would. There were things that consistently surprised me about it, small things, and things I found I’d already been expecting. I was absolutely taken with the imagery in the book right until the end, it was beautiful and breathtaking. OH! At some point they mentioned the giant vegetables, which were on my list of things to know about Alaska. So, that was cool.

The novel is definitely worth a read. It carries a sweet sadness within it, as we all do I think. The characters fail and succeed, they feel happiness and shame and anger– it’s easy to recognize oneself in their struggles, even if they’re not same as ours.

Screen Shot 2015-06-14 at 7.50.13 PMIn other news, I’m still attractively shrouded in germs, needles to say my Sunday plans went out the window. Thankfully I wasn’t too sick yesterday for an impromptu stop to buy some baked goods. As you can see, there was no regard for this thing people call “moderation”. Going crazy never tasted so good!

My day ended with a Carmina Burana concert. I hadn’t gone to a classical music concert in years and I’d forgotten how enjoyable they could be. What was NOT enjoyable was the constant desire to sneeze during the whole thing….damn you, allergies! Still, I had a really good time listening to the choir do their thing and watching the musicians as they played.
Screen Shot 2015-06-14 at 7.49.02 PM

That’s all for tonight, everyone. Stay tuned because this ride is just getting started! Tomorrow we pack our bags and head down to CANADA!

See you there, readers.

Leave a Reply

