Destination: Canada

Photo Jul 12, 1 04 03 PM copy

Evening, readers. I hope this Monday has been better than most for you!

I was originally planning on doing another list of strange facts, this time about Canada. There is a place in Quebec called St. Louis-Du-Ha!-Ha! I’m serious. Look it up. There is also a lake in Manitoba called Pekwachnamaykoskwaskwaypinwanik Lake. I swear I’m not making this up. It means “where the wild trout are caught by fishing with hooks”.  See?

Halfway through this (clearly fascinating) list I remembered I’ve actually been to Canada! I’ve been to the area around Niagara Falls, Toronto, and Vancouver. In light of that revelation, I decided to do a list of 10 experiences I had in Canada. So, here goes

10 Monumental and/or Completely Trivial Things That Happened to Me in Canada:

1. Driving 8 hours from Pennsylvania to Canada. EIGHT hours folks. (I should mention that I come from a very small island where, at most, it takes about 2 hours to cross North to South.)

2. Getting to Canada and realizing that you didn’t load Canadian maps onto your borrowed GPS.

3. Seeing Niagara Falls for the first time. Feeling small and happy about it.

4. Getting on the smallest elevator. Noticing there’s a girl with a hand crank that lowers the elevator. Pray to every single deity you can remember, even the Flying Spaghetti Monster. Especially the Flying Spaghetti Monster.

5. Finally getting on the boat that takes you to the Falls. Getting drenched from head to toe. Being damp for the rest of the day. Not minding.

6. Tasting Ice Wine for the first time. Loving it. Buying a bottle that you won’t open until years later.

7. Driving to Toronto for a concert, still without a GPS or a map. Getting there with time to spare. Deciding to shop to kill time. Being late to the concert.

8. Getting to the concert, having a random girl high five you because of your shirt. Dancing until you can’t breathe. Realizing you’re covered in dirt when the concert ends. Cleaning up in the bathroom of a KFC at midnight. Showering back at the hotel and watching the water run black

9. Spending your last hours in Canada playing games at an Arcade. Exchanging the tickets you won for trinkets, some of which you still have today. Feeling like a kid again.

10. Visiting the Falls one last time. Being rewarded with one of many rainbows. Heading home.

There you have it, a short retelling of my first trip to Canada. The second one involved insIMG_1442ane amounts of alcohol and a suspension bridge. Not simultaneously, mind you. It was pretty awesome though, it’s breathtaking standing on this swaying bridge and looking down at the rushing water. Both were incredible experiences and I’m hoping my next pick is just as good!

Tomorrow I’ll be sharing my pick for Canada, so don’t miss it! See you then, readers.

One thought on “Destination: Canada

  1. Pingback: Destination: Idaho | Destination: Reading

Leave a Reply

