Train Wrecked June

These last two weeks have been pretty crazy. The summer started out looking like it was going to be peaceful and slow, but it sped up on me. I haven’t caught up with it yet. I’ve been working at a new job and taking a class to (FINALLY!) graduate this summer. I got sick which threw my routine into even more disarray. All of this to say that I’ve been struggling to find time to read and dedicate myself to this challenge the way I want to.

I’ve kept on keeping on though and have managed to squeeze in small moments for reading. My pick for Canada is St. Urbain’s Horseman by Mordecai Richler. It popped up in a few places as I was looking for my Canadian book and something about it just stuck. To be honest, I’m not too sure what it was, only that I’m excited about it.

I haven’t gotten too far in, but what I’ve read is interesting if a bit strange. Jake Hersh, the main character, is a film director and the novel oscillates between prose and movie scripts that stage bits of his life or scenes from his imagination. It’s really interesting, but it sometimes takes you out of what you’re reading, which isn’t necessarily bad. I haven’t read enough to know what I want to say yet, but I’ve enjoyed what I’ve read so far.

Hopefully the weekend will gift me with the freedom to read for long periods of time and I’ll be able to post something more in depth about it. Until then, keep it classy readers!

Leave a Reply

