Something About Fathers

Hello everyone! I’ve been out and about today celebrating fathers and babies and the fact that in two weeks I’ll be done with my semester! It’s been mostly about fathers though, today is Father’s Day, after all! So, in lieu of a post, I decided to share with you a little scene from my current pick, St. Urbain’s Horseman by Mordecai Richler. Jake Hersh, the main character, is a movie director who is on trial and this next scene happens one morning before he heads out to court.

“Sammy skittered into the room, demanding, “Why aren’t you taking me to school this morning?”
“I can’t. I’ve got to be in the West End early again. Granny will take you.”

“Have you got a hangover?”
“Yes.” Jake motioned him closer. Lowering his voice, he asked, “Anything new on Tibbett?”
Tibbett, a schoolmate, was splendid at football.
“You won’t tell Molly?”
Jake promised.
“He’s being transferred to Leeds. They got twenty-one pounds for him.”
“But he must be worth more than that.”
Mrs. Hersh was calling.
“Will you take me to school tomorrow, then?”
“Tomorrow’s Saturday … Oh, Sammy!”
“Yes.”
What do you say to him? I never got to know my father and now it’s too late. Or, look here, starting next week I may be a boarder at Dartmoor for a while. Until I get home, walk tall.
“I enjoy you. I like taking you places with me. You’ve got style. Now hurry or you’ll be late.”

Whether they’re good or bad, always there or barely present, we all have fathers somewhere. So, take this bogus holiday and make it count by acknowledging that without your dad you’d probably just be an exact copy of your mom. And wouldn’t that be creepy?!

Happy Father’s Day, readers!

2 thoughts on “Something About Fathers

Leave a Reply

