Bad blogger! Go think about what you’ve done!

It’s been two days since I last posted. Something about best laid plans and life happening, etcetera. As tends to happen, whenever you’re settling in for some down time life gets unexpectedly hectic. It’s all been good, but it’s kept me from you beautiful people!

It’s insane how long it’s taken me to finish this book, especially because I’m enjoying it. It lulls you into a certain narrative flow, then it sneaks up on you with graphic descriptions of the Holocaust. It demands all your senses, but also your strength because it requires you to be able to jump, in the space of a few sentences, from an ordinary scene to accounts of what the bodies looked like when they opened the gas chambers. I know I’ve said this before, but I never expected this book to be as complex and textured as it is.

Reading St. Urbain’s Horseman has been a pleasant surprise that I feel I IMG_0061haven’t been able to fully appreciate because I’ve been reading snippets, rather than large chunks. My reading process has also been hindered by the fact that I’m finally putting my room to rights after painting (more than six months ago). This means putting my books back in place, and has had the unfortunate side effect of reminding me of all the books I own, but haven’t read yet. I’m excited to work my way through the challenge, but somewhere in the back of my mind there is Mulan reminding me that my duty is to my heart.

So, in order to achieve a balance I’ve decided to make the break room into a proper “segment”. The idea is that every once in a while I’m going to want a break from the challenge which I’ll share with you In The Break Room. I also decided to start a vlog type situation where I do ridiculous things, while I IMG_0031drink and talk about books. The first video is currently all set for editing, so there’s that to look forward to. I don’t want to give anything away, but it involves silly string, beer, and a UFO. Here is a preview of what my door looks like after a silly string attack…

I want to hear from you! Let me know if you’ve read St. Urbain’s Horseman, whether you share my issues with your own TBR pile, or even if you have any particularly strong emotions towards silly string.

Until next time, readers!

One thought on “Bad blogger! Go think about what you’ve done!

Leave a Reply

