When in doubt, travel.

Well, everyone, it’s official – I booked my trip to Europe! I’ve been slowly convincing myself to take this trip for the past few weeks and I finally decided to buy the plane tickets. The plan so far is to land in Scotland and from there head out to different countries. Not gonna lie, I’m insanely excited! It’s been a few years since I’ve been to Europe and I’ve never been there longer than a month. So, this trip is going to be a whole new experience in more than one way. I’m already looking for places to go, what I need to survive the winter months, where I can find the cheapest beer (let’s be honest, this is the most important one!).

Now that I’ve graduated it’s time to figure life out and I feel like I need to take a break and think about my next steps, academically and professionally. So, naturally, I decided to take that break and turn it into a four month trip through Europe. It makes sense to me to fill up that doubt with new people and experiences. I’m reminded of the Cheshire Cat telling Alice that if she didn’t know where she was going, it didn’t matter which road she took and that feels comforting in a strange way. Regardless of the path you take, you’re sure to get somewhere and I think that happens because it’s through experiences, through walking down unforseen paths that we come to visualize what we want to see at the end of the road. It’s exciting, in a nerve wracking way.

I’m also excited because I’m taking you guys with me! I’ll be blogging from the different countries I visit, posting pictures and videos of me being internationally ridiculous. The only downside is that I can’t take my best friend with me. She’s the one who takes my ridiculousness and makes it everything it can be. That’s all you need in a friend, really, someone who potentiates and encourages your bad ideas. She goes above and beyond that though, by being smart and funny and witty and cool. She’s probably the only thing I’m going to miss. And my mother…but that’s an entirely different category!

ANYWAY, enough with the sharing. What is this, a Mean Girls intervention?!

I’ve been editing the video I told you about, but it’s taking longer than expected on account of my complete lack of knowledge when it comes to editing. Oooooooof course. Nonetheless, I shall persevere! The end result should be up in a few days for your consumption and enjoyment. I also haven’t forgotten that this is, in fact, a blog about books! So, along with the video I’m working on finishing St. Urbain’s Horseman, so we can FINALLY move on to our next destination!

In the mean time, please enjoy the complimentary peanuts and these songs written and performed by my friend Mell. He sings, plays guitar, and says funny things. Check out the rest of his songs!

Leave a Reply

