Fun in the Sun(day) : Food Truck Summer Fest

It’s Sunday again. I bet you’re all thrilled that Monday is once again upon us. I’m kidding, Monday is hated by everyone in equal measure.

Today was another pleasant day spent in the Sun. There was a food truck festival to raise money for university scholarships. It was cool, but they weren’t prepared for the amount of people that showed up. Halfway through most of the trucks had run out of food and the lines had become infinite. I can’t stress enough how happy I am to have gotten there early because it meant that not only were we served quickly, but we were also able to try food from different trucks.

There weren’t a huge amount of trucks in attendance, but the ones that made it to the festival were delicious. We had burger sliders with bacon and onion jam, a large plate of nachos with nearly every topping imaginable, spicy sesame chicken with rice, ice cream, and lemonade. Yes, I stuffed my face. Albeit in the classiest way possible, which just means that I managed not to spill anything on myself!

The only thing that I didn’t really like were the ice creams – Key Lime Pie Mojito and Fluffy Bacon, which was a combination of marshmallows and bacon. They sound delicious, in theory, but in practice the texture was off and the flavors weren’t quite at their peak. So, that was a bit of a disappointment. My other issue was the never ending lines. This is going to sound ridiculous, but I waited over an hour for a couple of lemonades. Most places weren’t selling beverages, you had to buy them at the beverage centric food trucks or other kiosks. I got sunburned while I waited, that’s how long I waited for.

Here are a few pictures from today, some good, some terrible, such is life, I suppose.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

You know, lines are an interesting phenomenon. They’re this self contained world and the longer you spend in them, the more tribal they get. There’s a sense of solidarity between its members, but there’s also a high level of wariness. Tensions grow as more people join the line, time lengthens, and you start to wonder if that one guy is trying to cut in ahead. There was talk of rioting if the lemonade people didn’t get it together. I’m telling you, lines can get really intense. We also took a short workshop on how to set up a home garden with fruits, vegetables, and herbs. I bought seeds a few weeks ago, but I haven’t done anything with them, so now I’m excited all over again to start planting.

All in all though, because I got there early, I had a really nice time. I ran into friends I hadn’t seen for a while, I frolicked in the plants or some other nonsense. My only hope is that if they repeat the festival next year (and they definitely should!), they can work on the issues they had this time around to make it run more smoothly. I don’t want to know how it all ended this time around, people kept arriving and there was really no food left. *shudders* Can anyone say lynch mob?!

I hope you’re all having a great summer, readers. Enjoy the Sun. Roll down a grassy hill. Attend an orgy. Fly a kite. Summer only happens once a year, so put your shorts on and make the best of it!

Until next time. =)

Leave a Reply

