Under the Banner of DIY

I love everything to do with upcycling, DIY, and crafts. Really, I just like working with my hands and being able to have a tangible product at the end. Something I’ve always wanted to do is play around with spray paint, but for some reason I’ve never found a project to use it in. Well, that changed today! I’m going to repaint a little patio table we have and I decided to go ahead and do it with spray paint. I’m probably more excited than I should be, but who cares! IMG_0100

I recently learned of a spray paint brand called Plutonium. According to the website, it dries faster, is more eco-friendly, and offers better coverage than other brands. It’s only sold in three places on the island, one of which is thankfully close to me. I bought two cans, red and black, to try it out, but I’m hoping this is the beginning of a beautiful relationship. I’ll keep you guys updated as the project develops, I’m excited to see the end result!

It hasn’t all been furniture and spray paint, though, I did some reading and spent some time on yesterday’s homework. I was trying to figure out how many Mormons reside here in the island, but I didn’t have any luck. Unfortunately, today wasn’t any better so I’m thinking of finding people who belong to the Church so I can ask. We’ll see!

Under the Banner of Heaven by Jon Krakauer, my pick for Utah, is holding steady at concise, yet informative. I know I keep harping on it, but I think only a small amount of writers know how to condense their writing without making it into something tangled and convoluted. I know it sounds contradictory, but it makes a weird sort of sense, I promise! I think the fact that it’s so direct just makes what he’s saying seem that much more incredible. There’s no string of empty sentences to buffer or serve as padding, which means you’re reading one surprising bit of information after the next. It makes for high energy, dynamic reading.

Stay tuned for more thoughts and contradictions! Until next time, readers.

Leave a Reply

