In the Break Room: Binge Reading Rainbow Rowell

If you’re anything like me, you hate Mondays to the best of your abilities. I’ve always been one of those people who would blow them up to high heaven if given the opportunity. Although, to be fair, then I’d just hate Tuesdays. Someone has to take the heat, I guess! On the bright side, we’re all that much closer to Friday. Feel better about getting up? Not even a little bit? Well, lets take your mind off it with books!

As I said before, I wasn’t completely idle during my break. I finished my pick for Utah, Under the Banner of Heaven by Jon Krakauer, and picked up a few other books. What that means is I’ve been binge reading Rainbow Rowell like it’s going out of style. I’d bought Attachments a while back and it had been staring at me ever since. It was only fair to give it some TLC before it developed abandonment issues. But you know what they say, one isn’t enough (or something to that effect), so I went ahead and read most of her books!

I discovered Rainbow Rowell last year through after subscribing to one of Quarterly’s boxes curated by Book Riot. The idea was to receive one book each month and then go on to discuss it in forums within the site. The first book they sent me was Rowell’s Landline. Going into it I was a bit hesitant, I’d never heard of this person called Rainbow Rowell and I didn’t want to hate the book, then feel like I’d wasted my subscription money. To my relief, Landline didn’t disappoint! In fact, I fell in love with Rowell and her writing. I’m surprised it’s taken me this long to read her other books.

Coming into her other novels, I had really high expectations, but I needn’t have worried. Her books always leave me with a feeling of warm satisfaction when I’m done. Her characters consistently come across as real people, it never feels like they’re being forced to be flawed and “normal” just to fit the story.

Her writing is so good, you guys! She has this way of crafting a beautiful, yet simple phrases by blending funny, sarcastic wit with honest vulnerability. The result is always a story that’s sweet and beautiful, without being cloying. She writes books that I want to read over and over to recapture that warm glow I feel as I turn the (metaphorical) pages.

I wanted to share a little bit of my experience with you, but don’t miss my next post about Rainbow Rowell and distance! *dun dun dun* Oh, the suspense! I’ll talk about the things I liked and the very few I didn’t. Stay tuned!

Have you read anything by Rainbow Rowell? Which are your favorite books and why? Let me know in the comments below. Keep it cool, readers. Until next time!

Leave a Reply

