Alphabet Soup: C is for Chapters

This segment titled Alphabet Soup: The alphabet according to someone with very little shame and a lot of time on her hands was inspired by blogger Mandy Wallace and the Writers of Kern A to Z challenge. Enjoy!

Happy Friday everyone! This week has been slightly brutal, so I write to you from the comfort of my bed. I’m debating whether leaving it every day is a smart decision or a poor life choice. This is the stuff of intense intellectual pondering, right here.

C is for Chapters

I’m always annoyed when people skip chapters in books or tv shows (I’m looking at you Whovians who skipped the 9th Doctor. Who does that?!). It’s always seemed lazy to declare this or that chapter unnecessary, how do you know it’s unnecessary without reading it first? As a child it didn’t make sense to me when a girl I knew told me she was reading Harry Potter, but skipping chapters because she wanted to get to the “good parts”.

Granted, I understand this approach when you’ve read the book before, but not for the first read. For me it doesn’t make sense because books are these little universes where each chapter builds up a new layer of (fictional) reality. It seems to me that skipping one or two or three would just leave you with a bare bones world in which to exist while you read. You’re leaving behind everything that makes a book rich and beautiful, missing out on what makes it complex.

IMG_0178A few weeks ago I was out drinking with my best friend and, while in the bathroom, I came across a quote that said, “¿Cómo ibas a leerme si te saltaste la mitad de mis capítulos?”. This translates into, “How were you going to read me if you skipped half my chapters?”. It sounds really pretty and as a book lover I almost want a quote like that to make sense to me. Someone to read all your chapters, more than once, and to love you despite all the weird things in their pages. Except, when it comes to life, the read every chapter philosophy loses it’s appeal.

It’s kind of impossible to read every chapter in someone’s life. You weren’t there for most of them and, let’s be honest, there are going to be some you miss at the end. You might even miss some in between. That’s just how life works. Asking someone to read every single chapter, is a bit like setting them up for failure because without sharing those chapters with you, it’s impossible to truly read them. It’s like telling someone to read a series where a few volumes have been lost and giving them the Cliffs Notes instead. Then quizzing them on the footnotes that the summary never even mentioned.

I think life is more like an audiobook. The book has already been written, now someone needs to take the time to sit down and read it aloud for someone else’s benefit. Even so, no one is going to be privy to all your chapters because life isn’t like a book, a closed universe of pre-conceived characters. People come and go, sometimes forever, sometimes only for a little bit, but they always miss out on something. So, is it really necessary to be disappointed in someone or annoyed when they’re not there forever? Yes, yes it is, because we’re human and there are times when you can’t help it.

However, I’ve come to realize that within the disappointment of life not being like a closed universe book, is the happiness of sharing unforeseen moments. They ebb like waves, they’re unreliable, but they always happen. And when they do, they’re absolutely blinding. Not everyone is going to be there for each moment, but I think some one person always will be. And that’s enough, at least for me.

IMG_0182Have a great Friday, readers! Cheers!
Leave a Reply

