Destination: Wyoming

Destination Wyoming

Happy Monday, you guys! Hopefully you’re having a cracking afternoon, but probably not because it’s Monday. I feel your pain fellow sufferers! As you read this I’m probably at work, photographing a cooking class because my boss decided I know something about photography. That actually is quite far from the truth, but she insisted…

We’re in Wyoming! Leave me a comment if you were born in or lived there for any period of time. I can’t say I’ve ever met anyone from the Equality State, as it’s apparently known. It makes sense because it was the first state to give women the right to vote. Four for you Wyoming!

As I was searching for books set in Wyoming, I decided to branch out and see what else was out there. I was met by well known movies like Bridesmaids and Brokeback Mountain. On the other hand, I found some lesser known ones like Cannibal! The Musical. Out of the three I’ve only seen Bridesmaids, which leads me to believe I might be a bit behind on my movie watching….perhaps movie posts are in order? (cue suspense music). Seriously though, a musical about cannibals? It sounds terrible, but also like something I’m dying to watch…

Anyway, strange movies weren’t the only thing I found. I also found a video game in the works that will be set in the Wyoming Wilderness!

Titled Firewatch, the game follows this guy who has recently become a fire lookout. His only connection with the outside world comes in the form of a radio which he uses to keep in touch with his supervisor. Here’s the actual description of the game, taken from the website:

In Firewatch you play as a man named Henry who has retreated from his messy life to work as a fire lookout in the Wyoming wilderness. Perched high atop a mountain, it’s your job to look for smoke and keep the wilderness safe. An especially hot, dry summer has everyone on edge. Your supervisor, a woman named Delilah, is available to you at all times over a small, handheld radio — and is your only contact with the world you’ve left behind.

But when something strange draws you out of your lookout tower and into the world, you’ll explore a wild and unknown environment, facing questions and making interpersonal choices that can build or destroy the only meaningful relationship you have.

Firewatch is a mystery game, so there is definitely a small creepiness factor, but that just makes it all the better for me. This is definitely a game I’m looking forward to playing. The concept of the game seems interesting and the graphics look pretty cool, from what I’ve seen. Mind you I’m not an expert or a professional when it comes to these things, so I can’t give you any specific information about it.

 This is a screenshot taken from the game website. Doesn’t it look pretty?

Unfortunately, Campo Santo, the video game studio working on the game, hasn’t announced a release date. I read somewhere that it was due to come out in 2015, but that doesn’t seem likely. At least we have the trailers!

I was hoping that by some miracle the game would be out by the time we go to Wyoming, but alas, it’s not meant to be. Still, I’m pretty excited for this game to come out. It makes me want to spend hours playing video games, which means I might have to go find another game to play just to satisfy the craving.

What games are you guys playing right now? Any you’re really hooked on? Let me know! I’m always in the lookout for new games. Until next time, readers. Keep it cool!

2 thoughts on “Destination: Wyoming

  1. Pingback: Rangent: YouTube Binge | Destination: Reading

  2. Pingback: Firewatch: Update | Destination: Reading

Leave a Reply

