Destination: Colorado

Hello, Hello readers!

It’s Wednesday. First week of October. And my excitement is mounting! Once October arrives awesome things just start to happen – Halloween, my birthday, Thanksgiving, Christmas, Three King’s Day. This year, the months of awesomeness are being kicked off by my trip! It’s crazy to me that I’m leaving in like a week. Crazy! You’ll notice (or maybe not) that I’ve switched to posting at night, rather than at noon. I’m trying something out. For science. We’ll see how it pans out!

In the mean time, we’re still reading which brings me to….

Destination Colorado

We’re somewhere new, you guys, and I couldn’t be more excited. It’s always fun arriving at a new reading destination and we’ve just made our way to Colorado! Looking into this state was an experience in falling in love, or as close as you can without ever having been there! Here are five reasons why Colorado is a state after my own heart.

1) South Park

Of course, South park is something (recently) dear to my heart. I’d never seen a full episode, up until last June when I started binge watching the show from the beginning. I’m currently halfway through the sixteenth season Not to shabby if I say so myself. Which I do. Because, why not?

2) Sex Change Capital of the World

There’s a place in Colorado called Trinidad which is known as the “Sex Change Capital of the World”, at one point they were performing approximately 65% of the sex changes that took place in the world. There’s even a documentary about it!

3) First Same Sex Marriages

Apparently Colorado was the first state to perform same sex marriages. Back in 1975, a clerk in Boulder, Colorado changed the gendered words in the marriage contract to “persons” and married about six same sex couples. Some of these marriages haven’t held up in court, but some haven’t been challenged which means they’ve remained legal. It’s pretty badass.

4) Weed

Of course, we all know that Colorado legalized Weed. While I don’t smoke regularly, I think legalizing weed is the right move. Also, I was reading that Colorado has the best medical grade weed available, which is definitely something to write home about.

And finally, although these things make Colorado a fine state, what really stopped me in my tracks was…

5) Breweries galore!

Colorado has over 200 breweries. Now, I’m not saying that breweries have more of an impact or are more important than anything mentioned up to now. I’m saying that I have a deeply committed relationship with alcohol and this is like discovering new dimensions to my life partner.

Ideally, I’d have taken a tour of a whole bunch of breweries, but since I’m broke as fuck I can’t afford a plane ticket to Colorado. What I WILL do is take a tour of my local bar this weekend and see how many Colorado brewed beers I can find. More on this as it develops….

There you have it, folks. Colorado seems like a pretty amazing place in paper. Do any of you live in CO? Tell me what you like most about Colorado in the comments below! And, if you have any beer recommendations don’t hesitate to share!

Keep it cool, readers. Until next time!

Leave a Reply

