Alphabet Soup: H is for Human

This segment titled Alphabet Soup: The alphabet according to someone with very little shame and a lot of time on her hands was inspired by blogger Mandy Wallace and the Writers of Kern A to Z challenge. Enjoy!

Hello beautiful readers!

My first week in Scotland has come and gone and I’m sorry I haven’t posted anything! This whole no internet thing has been more problematic than I expected, but I’ve been thinking of you as the days go by. I know I said I’d close up shop in Colorado this week and I will try to post my Final Thoughts later, but I make no promises. Something very human, I think.

H is for Human

I’ve decided to take advantage of this post to give you a little update on what I’ve been up to since arriving in Scotland. We’ve gone from town to town exploring all that this fair country has to offer – beautiful lakes, peaceful woods, castles and palaces full of history.
I’ve seen a whole host of animals I’d never seen before, like magpies, pheasants, wood pigeons, black sheep, swans. I’ve been fed Millionaire Shortbread, Jaffa Cakes, and Scotch Pie. Delicious. IMG_0281And, of course, I’ve been sampling Scottish beers like there’s no tomorrow. Which there might not be, so there is really no need to pace oneself. Right? Right.

I also watched my first game of Rugby. On TV, but you know, still. We went to a little pub and drank beer as Scotland battled it out with Australia. Even though most of the time I had no idea what was going on, it was hard not to be carried away by the infectious energy in the room. Men cursing, shouting at a TV that paid no heed to them, little jokes here and there, an air of instant camaraderie as everyone cheered for the same team. It was a nice feeling, being there, taking part in this thing that felt almost private even though it was no such thing. My days have been interesting, that’s for sure.

HowIMG_1914ever, this week, while full of natural wonder and droves of excitement, has also served to remind me what this whole human condition is all about. Happiness, sadness, loss, anger, jealousy. Being human is full of so many things we take for granted. So many things we’d love to do without. Especially because, when it comes down to it, so many of these emotions often stem from irrational places. Feelings of inadequacy. Fear of losing someone you care for. Anger at being kept in the dark about things you feel you have a right to know even though you don’t. Humanity, at it’s core, is often defined by that very irrationality. Having hope when you know there is nothing more to be done, holding on to things that are no longer yours even if they are within reach.

In the end, we must live through it all whether we like it or not. Live through the pain and the tears that come against your will sometimes. Most of all, sometimes, the biggest part of being human is recognizing that irrationality. Recognizing that giving voice to all these things would mean creating unnecessary turbulence. Rocking the boat for things that make noise only inside your head. At the end of the day, when your heart sounds loudest, you have to ask yourself, “Is it worth it?”

What a Debbie Downer, guys. I’ve had a week of adventuring and perhaps a bit too much thinking. Bear with me, I promise it’ll all pep up soon! Stay beautiful, readers.

Until next time, here’s a picture of a swan looking right at you!

IMG_0278

Leave a Reply

