Destination: Christmas #1

I had plans of cramming as many Holiday themed books I could into December, but then I stumbled into Book Riot’s Advent Calendar and I was instantly hooked. It’s a combination of poetry, essays, and short stories, which should keep things interesting. It also means I’ll be posting every day, some days twice to keep up with the usual posts! Exciting, no?

Day 1

[little tree] by E. E. Cummings

Awwwww, you guys! That was such a sweet little poem. It makes me feel warm and snug. I couldn’t help but picture a little girl holding up her arms and greedily trying to hold all the ornaments at once. I miss that feeling, the complete immersion in the beauty of Christmas. As we grow older we get tangled in the webs of adulthood, the lose ends and the threads that seem to go on forever. I feel like I was forcefully shoved into adulthood, made to leave behind the glittering innocence of being a child. This poem made me feel that for a little bit. What a lovely way to start the Holiday season!

Leave a Reply

