Destination: Christmas #2

This Christmas series is brought to you thanks to Book Riot’s Literary Advent Calendar. It’s a combination of poetry, short stories, and essays. I’ll be posting every day, some days twice to keep up with my regular posts. Click the story title for the full text. Now, let’s get this Christmas show on the road!

Day 2

The Gift of the Magi by O Henry

I’m not going to lie, today’s story didn’t quite blow me over. I’m fairly sure I’ve read it before, so that might have something to do with it. It’s a cute story – the lengths we’re willing to go to for love. They sacrifice so much, but in the end it all gets twisted. Really, the only thing they’ve gained from each other’s sacrifices is the knowledge of just what the other was capable of doing to show their love. In a way, that’s the greatest gift of all, right? Knowing you love someone who’s willing to go to any lengths to make you happy? Maybe. It just makes me sad for them. Who knows, maybe I’m just really tired and projecting. Maybe you guys will like it better!

Read it and let me know whether you enjoyed it or not in the comments below! Stay cool, readers.

Leave a Reply

