Destination: Christmas #3

This Christmas series is brought to you thanks to Book Riot’s Literary Advent Calendar. It’s a combination of poetry, short stories, and essays. I’ll be posting every day, some days twice to keep up with my regular posts. Click the story title for the full text. Now, let’s get this Christmas show on the road!

Day 3

The Elves and the Shoemaker

by the Grimm Brothers

Is it weird that I’d never read the story about the Elves and the Shoemaker? Probably. But now I have and I’m happy about it. Short, but sweet just about covers it and it hits the spot for today when I’m still sore all over and in a general state of mawpness. It’s nice, you know. These people who just went ahead and did something nice for these elves because they were grateful. Sometimes people don’t know how to be grateful. They see things as their due, rather than seeing them as gift or privileges. And Christmas, for all the warm feelings it gives me, is a time that’s full of ungratefulness. I’ve seen kids be so mean to parents and grandparents because the gifts they got them weren’t expensive or big.

It breaks my heart over and over because I remember seeing my cousins do it to my grandmother. There was a year she bought them generic video games and they looked at her like she’d literally given her a bag of coal. She felt so bad afterwards, asked me what was wrong with the games. I remember feeling so angry at them for not seeing the effort she’d put into it. I remember telling her the games were fine, they were the ones who were ungrateful. Thinking about it now still makes me angry, it still makes me sad. A little gratitude goes a long way.

A story like this, the whole pay it forward mentality behind it all, serves to make me happy. To remind me to be grateful for all the gifts life gives me, the little “elves” that dash in and out bringing me a laugh when I need it or lending me an ear when I need to talk. In the spirit of showing appreciation, I want to thank you guys for reading. I hope my words bring you a little bit of happiness and joy.

Have a good one readers!

Leave a Reply

