Destination: Christmas #7

This Christmas series is brought to you thanks to Book Riot’s Literary Advent Calendar. It’s a combination of poetry, short stories, and essays. I’ll be posting every day, some days twice to keep up with my regular posts. Click the story title for the full text. Now, let’s get this Christmas show on the road!

Day 7

Luminous Beings Are We: The Night Before Christmas in a Galaxy Far, Far Away

by Brad Ricca

The Force is not with me today as I try to get over my weekend. I feel like I could sleep for a week straight, but of course the show must go on. Or something to that effect. I had a great time yesterday though, even if I was running on fumes!

I have to admit, my eyes were drooping as I clicked on the link for today’s piece, but I perked right up as soon as I saw what it was. The article talks about the relationship between Star Wars and Christmas. How it’s not just about toys, but actually about something more. Although, they don’t really say what that something is. I imagine it’s something like family or the feelings the movie created in people, maybe similarities between the joy of Christmas and the joy of Star Wars. Who knows?

It was a cute article and, even though it was written last year, it’s very appropriate for the season. And by season I mean Star Wars Season, where the world waits with baited breath for the release of the new Star Wars movie. I’m actually excited for it to come out, having watched all six of them during my trip. I feel like I’m part of the whole thing now, plus the excitement of it all is still fairly fresh in my mind.

I have to say though, the best part about the article was a column the author included that was published in 1978. It’s a funny, charming rewriting of The Night Before Christmas á la Star Wars. If you never listen to me again it’s fine, provided you go and read it. For some reason Christmas and Star Wars mix really well. 

Have a good one, readers. And may the Force be with you!

Leave a Reply

