Destination: Christmas #15

This Christmas series is brought to you thanks to Book Riot’s Literary Advent Calendar. It’s a combination of poetry, short stories, and essays. I’ll be posting every day, some days twice to keep up with my regular posts. Click the story title for the full text. Now, let’s get this Christmas show on the road!

Day 15

At Christmas by Edgar A. Guest

It’s Tuesday. I’ve got bread in the oven. I went on a non date yesterday. I’m reading a book that was meant to be nondescript, but is actually captivating. Consider yourself updated.

Today’s text is another rhyming poem. Poems that have obvious rhymes annoy me, they make me feel uninspired like that one kid who always tries to hard. I’ll accept rhymes from Dr. Seuss, but that’s about it. Anyway, this guy is rhyming about how man is his best at Christmas, almost what god intended him to be. His words, not mine. He’s saying man is kinder and more generous when he is filled to bursting with Christmas spirit and joy.

I agree, for the most part. I think man is better when he’s got the spirit of Christmas swirling around in his heart, but he’s better only because of his willingness to have it be so. It’s not feeling the warmth of the season or the desire to share that makes us be better people during the Holidays, it’s opening up ourselves to those feelings. Christmas is a time to be generous and kind, it gives us the freedom to let go of our sarcasm and our cynicism in order to embrace the wonder of the Holidays.

I love Christmas, the decorations, the music, putting up the tree. But I also love the feeling that comes with it, the cool air in the evenings, dim lights shining everywhere. A slight spring in people’s steps as they walk just a little closer. For me Christmas is not about religion or even about the presents (Although, I do love those as well!). For me it’s about that feeling, which swoops in and lands lightly on our heart, warming it for the season to come.

So yes, man is most definitely better during Christmas. But it’s only through his willingness to believe in the feelings of Christmas. It probably sounds naive, but I believe in that feeling. I believe in being enamored by the possibilities of Christmas, seduced by the songs that speak of peace and love. Even if it’s just once a year.

Keep it minty, readers. Pepperminty.

Leave a Reply

