Destination: Christmas #25

This Christmas series is brought to you thanks to Book Riot’s Literary Advent Calendar. It’s a combination of poetry, short stories, and essays. I’ll be posting every day, some days twice to keep up with my regular posts. Click the story title for the full text. Now, let’s get this Christmas show on the road!

Day 25

Christmas Bells

by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

Merry Christmas, readers! I hope you’ve had a wonderful day full of gifts and joy, and barring that a fuckton of alcohol!

Today is the last day of this Christmas series. I wasn’t always punctual or even consistent with it, but I enjoyed what I did read and the posts I made. Hopefully some of you followed along and actually read all of the entries in the advent calendar. Even if you didn’t and you’re just joining me now, I’m happy you’re here!

And for a while, today’s poem seemed to be echoing my sentiments of happiness and goodwill. Up until the point where cannons appeared and the narrator lost all hope of peace on Earth. Talk about a bummer, you guys. I was reading, inspired, joyful. Until WHOOMPH, despair. Happily though, that last verse rings loudly and reminds us that

  “God is not dead, nor doth He sleep;

        The Wrong shall fail,

        The Right prevail,

    With peace on earth, good-will to men.”

So, in the end peace and good will shall prevail over the wrong doers. And as a person who is constantly “in the wrong”, in deed and action, I resent this binary peace where only the righteous can get in on the action. The hippie inside me has hope of a peace shared by all in equal measure. It’s an idealistic notion, perhaps even naive, but if there ever was a day for any of those things it’s today.

So, I wish peace on Earth and good-will to you. All of you. Equally.

Have a good one readers!

Leave a Reply

