In the Break Room: Noelle Stevenson’s Nimona

Hello, hello readers!

nimonaYou might remember I made book haul post last week. Well, I’ve been tearing my way through it and the first victim was Nimona by Noelle Stevenson. You guys, let me tell you a thing. Or a few.

For those of you who don’t know, Nimona is a graphic novel by the author of the Lumberjanes. There was a time when it kept popping up everywhere. I read excerpts, reviews, mini-comics. Finally, I convinced myself to just get it over it and buy it. Boy am I glad I did! Nimona is funny, sweet, engaging, and utterly surprising. I loved the characters. They drew me into their world, so that I was slightly shocked when I reached the last page. Where am I? What just happened? Why in the world isn’t this longer?! Because it doesn’t have to be, that’s why. It’s a simple, elegant story that has no need to lengthen itself further. Stevenson said all she needed to say in its pages and it was beautiful. Also really funny.

16249418-_sx540_

Here’s a peek at the stuff that happens in the book. Nimona for the win!

Speaking of beauty, let’s talk about how pretty this book is. The pages glisten, the colors are bright and rich, it’s truly a gorgeous thing to behold. As soon as I cracked the book and took a look at the first page I was blown away by how nice it all was. This might just be me, I might be highly susceptible to that particular color scheme. But I don’t think so. I think you might agree with me. It’s really fucking awesome. If there is anything you pay attention to, it should be this: don’t download it. Get a hard copy. You’ll see what I mean once you have it in your hands.

To be honest, I didn’t know whether I was going to like Nimona, let alone this much. It’s the kind of story I wouldn’t mind returning to time and time again. The type of graphic novel I will push on people if they make the mistake of asking for recommendations. Nimona reminds us what it is to be strong. What it is to be angry and hurt and still let someone into our hearts. Sometimes things turn out well, sometimes they don’t. In the end all we have is trying and hoping we’ve made the right choice.

Have a good one, readers!

Leave a Reply

