February Book Haul

Hello, readers!

I’m writing this at an ungodly hour because I couldn’t sleep. Such is life I suppose! About a month ago, almost to the day, I posted a Book Haul of sorts. I figured, why not make it a real thing. Like Pinnochio. Except, you know, not actually real because what would that even look like? Anyway, here are the books for February!

I ended up ordering a bunch of books on Amazon that I’d been meaning to read, but hadn’t quite gotten around to. You know how that is, you put it on your wish list and it stays there forever. Glaring at you because you keep passing it up for a million reasons, even though you still want to read it.

Jagganath: Stories by Karin Tidbeck was like that, it’s a short story anthology that’s been on my wish list for ages, even though I was dying to read it and everyone raved about it when it came out. Same with Horrorstor: A Novel, which I’m indescribably excited to read. Also, it’s unexpectedly pretty – bonus. Ditto with Mr. Penumbra’s 24 Hour Bookstore: A Novel by Robin Sloan and The Book of Speculation: A Novel by Erika Swyler.

Evolution Man: Or How I Ate My Father, was actually a book recommended by a book. I found out about it while reading Terry Pratchett’s A Slip of the Keyboard, which I was reading when he died. Weird experience, that was. Anywho, he made it sound so hilarious that I instantly added it to my wish list. In there I also had a few books for the challenge (which is taking forever and a day), among them The Familiar, volume 2: Into the Forest by Mark Z. Danielewski and The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden: a Novel by Jonas Jonasson.

Lastly, I have entire lists with books about gender and sex education because that’s something I enjoy reading about. They’re subjects I’ve kind of neglected for a while, so I figured I’d round things out with a few books on them. The first is Sex: Our Bodies, Our Junk by Scott Jacobson, which kept popping up in different places until it wore me down. The other is Come as You Are: The Surprising New Science That Will Transform Your Sex Life by Emily Nagoski. I’m always wary of books that make such big claims, especially in the sex ed department because they’re usually more self-help than they are actual science. So, I’m looking forward to finding out whether it’s as good as people say it is. Finally, a bit of a format change, I got Sex Criminals, Vol. 2: Two Worlds, One Cop by Matt Fraction and Chip Zdarsky because who doesn’t want to read a graphic novel about people who stop time when they orgasm?!

That’s it for now, readers! Let me know which books you’ve been reading or have been meaning to read!

Until next time!

 

Leave a Reply

