Tracy Letts’ August: Osage County

Mid-week hello’s to you, readers!

This week actually feels really packed. I have an unnecessary amount of appointments, the ones you get for routine check ups you don’t really want. But you get them anyone because, you know, what if? I’m kinda looking forward to a quiet Friday and a not so quiet weekend!

We’re in Oklahoma, you guys! The sooner state, which is apparently what they called the people who settled in the land before the time that was designated for it. I never would’ve guessed that was the explanation. Still, I’m glad we’re here and ready to talk about our Oklahoma pick.

file_578458_august-osage-county-posterAugust: Osage County by Tracy Letts is actually one of those books I’d kind of been meaning to read for a really long time. Especially when the movie came out because, hello, Meryl Streep. Plus Julia Roberts. Just, amazing. I’d never gotten around to it, so I’m glad I finally did during the #24in48 Reading Marathon. It’s about a fairly dysfunctional family that comes together when the patriarch goes missing. Everyone is under the same roof for the first time in years and things are just going crazy.

It was a surprising book in quite a few ways. First of all, I had no idea it was a play. After the initial struggle of finding yourself having to quickly switch your mindset to a new format, I was actually glad about it. Not only does the author pull it off, but there were scenes that were just kind of mind blowing for me.

I remember at one point I turned to the wife, who was reading on the couch next to me, to show her the book and how it was organized. There’s a scene where everyone is talking at once, about three conversations happening simultaneously, but also constantly changing. Characters would move from one conversation to another, come back to the original one. I was mesmerized by how the dialogue had been structured.

And, when you think about it, it’s not such an incredible feat. I’m sure it’s not the first time it’s done, but it felt so real. So true, to who I thought these people I was reading about were. I could picture it, the loudness and the silences. Of course, that’s not the only scene that I enjoyed, but that’s the one that really struck a chord. Something about feeling all those voices speaking in disarray around you. It’s a very particular sensation that you don’t often or ever get through books.

The play itself was really good. It’s full of character, of raw things and unexpressed anger, some resentment. It was really different from the books I usually read, but in a good way.

I’m really happy I finally got to reading it. It was a pretty satisfying experience in the end.

That’s it for now. Stay golden, you guys.

Leave a Reply

